Search This Blog

Friday, August 27, 2010

The DROIDS

Definition- DROID (noun): 1) Android or 2) A person who acts in a mechanical, unimaginative way automaton; robot.

YES, I'm slightly disturbed by this definition as well and you may be saying - that girl has finally flown the coup. BUT, I assure you that I did that years ago, and it would have no baring on this didactic :-) I'm calling THYROID issues the DROID because it seems so "mechanical" and robot-ish. I exhibit many of the symptoms and it's a startling revelation (doesn't mean I have this disease though). Of course, having the one where you lose tons of weight isn't the one I'm referring to (seems slightly unfair, but whatever). I'm posting this video as a way to create conversation with family members and loved ones who you see going through these problems.

The most insane revelation for me was me hearing a person in a recorded support group say that she tried to change her diet, ate like she did when she dieted in the past, exercised hard, banished whole food groups, modified her diet until it was almost unrecognizable, and she still lost no weight. Then she stated that she got frustrated, and ate "regular food" for one week and gained 5 lbs...that hit home. We'll get into more of these symptoms later, but check this video for biological overview.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Dance GIRL...


So I just totally forgot to post yesterday - But I'm going to make this up by posting one of my favorite (most forgotten) videos by Aaliyah Haughton. It has been 9 years since her death. I remember being preggo at the time and hearing about her plane crashing...very sad. But she lives on through her craft- MUSIC. SN: check that dance routine, I can see why she was so thin, that's crazy!!

Looking at this video's closing dance routine vaguely reminds me of the Ciara "Like A Boy" Video. I had to make sure the choreographers weren't the same - striking resemblance. Anyway, dancing can burn anywhere between 350-900 calories per hour depending on what you're doing. It's one of my favorite things to do and you get really nice features with it (LEGS, ARMS, BACK , "BABY GOT BACK", AND ABS. Try learning this routine, bet you won't want to stop!!

Monday, August 23, 2010

SCHOOLS BACK IN...SNACK RIGHT!!

HELLO CREW!! Long time no see!! Last week was a vacation week, so now it's back to the basics. My munchkin started school and diet considerations have to be made (recreated to sound interesting), including making room for that post school snack. SOOOOOO what to do?? For an all week snack that costs roughly $.50-.75 cent per snack, try Laughing Cow Cheese and 6 crackers. You could polish this nice snack off with a cup juice or handy dandy H2O. My son has been going crazy for the Laughing Cow Creamy Swiss Cheese and if you get the Lite variety, it's only 35 calories per serving. Me personally, I love cheese and I love having cheese as a snack. This is one of my favorite snacks all year and I eat mine with a piece of fruit as opposed to the juice. I was a bit leery about those very small looking cheese triangle wedges, but it really is plenty of cheese for 6 crackers and it's really tasty. YOU HAVE TO TRY IT!!

Friday, August 13, 2010

FRIDAY the 13th THOUGHT: An 875 Calorie Diet?!?

Today, you simply get a picture of ME-LOL

So lately, I've been quite perturbed about this 875 Calorie diet I've been given. It's like an nagging thorn in my side because I just can't shake why anyone would think that this is healthy. But nonetheless, I've been told I needed to "rev up" my metabolism. After working out for the last 5 months, I've gained tones of muscles and tone, but I've only lost 13lbs (I have lost inches- SWEET VICTORY). People have been attributing it to some of everything, but I'm going to attribute it to my obsession with sugar and my inconsistencies with food. Some days I get in 2,000 calories and other days I get in 700 calories, then I'm well over 2,400 calories, then well I eat 500 -- depends on the day. So, I'm making a goal to be a little more consistent.

I DO NOT LIKE LOW FAT/LOW CARB/ LOW ANYTHING FOOD DIETS, but I am for learning how to eat healthier. I've taken everything the dietitian told me into consideration. I strongly caution you to see a doctor/ dietitian, etc. Like everything, I've modified it to fit my lifestyle and taste (adding more fruit/veggies to the morning snack and adding a post Lunch fruit snack), but it is generally the same. I'll keep you posted (of course)!! Here's a small peep of the 875 calorie diet! It is wayyyyyy too intricate to make short, so you just get a peep. Here ya go:
Breakfast:
one complex Carb
one fruit
1/2 diary product (no more than 1 gram of fat AND less than 100 calories)

Morning Snack:
one fruit

Lunch:
one complex carb
one veggie
one dairy product

Dinner:
4.5 oz of meat
one complex carb
one veggie

Evening snack:
one fruit
1/2 dairy product

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Salads Worse than a BURGER?!?

Check out this Yahoo Link for more info (click on the words Yahoo Link)!!

TENNIS

This summer, my son's tennis coach told his father that my son's tennis skills are years ahead of his age group. Apparently, he's a natural! So, in order to nurture his tennis experience, he will begin his official tennis lessons this fall. In light of this, I have begun thinking about taking tennis lessons as well. Here are some positives to playing tennis:
  1. Tennis players scored higher in vigor, optimism and self-esteem while scoring lower in depression, anger, confusion, anxiety and tension than other athletes and non-athletes according to Dr. Joan Finn and colleagues at Southern Connecticut State University.

  2. Competitive tennis burns more calories than aerobics, inline skating, or cycling, according to studies on caloric expenditures.

  3. People who participate in tennis 3 hours per week (at moderately vigorous intensity) cut their risk of death in half from any cause, according to physician Ralph Paffenbarger who studied over 10,000 people over a period of 20 years.

I want to caution that tennis players sometimes suffer from tennis elbow or lateral epicondylitis,
which is caused from the constant strain on the elbow. However, tennis is fun and provides a wonderful workout - plus it gets those legs and arms in tip top shape!! Check it out in your area!!

Friday, August 6, 2010

VEGGIE POT PIE


I have to apologize because the remainder of the videos don't show anything as I'm talking, so there was no need to post them. I'm just going to post the first video and then give you the recipe. This was really tasty and it lasted most of the week. I took some back for my mom and brother and they loved it too. It is actually so good that you don't miss the chicken. I wish I could tell you all exactly what I did, but somethings I just fix until it tastes right-lol. Also, this recipe makes alot...I'd use about half for a small group. The actual flavor of a pot pie comes from the chicken stock (broth or cream of chicken). Be creative with the inside and put your favorite veggies in - I'm sure it'll be tasty!! The majority of this recipe was taken from AllRecipes.com. I honestly don't know what I did, but it was loaded with veggies.

Ingredients
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 large carrots, diced
2 potatoes, peeled and diced
2 stalks celery, sliced 1/4 inch wide
2 cups cauliflower florets
1 cup fresh green beans, trimmed and snapped into 1/2 inch pieces
3 cups vegetable broth (or chicken broth - I used one can of broth and one can cream of chicken)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 recipe pastry for double-crust pie

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).

2. Bring broth to a boil, then turn heat down to a simmer. Stir in carrots, potatoes, celery, onions, and garlic. Stir in cauliflower, green beans, and vegetable broth. Cook until vegetables are barely tender, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

3. In a small bowl, mix the cornstarch and 1/4 cup water until cornstarch is completely dissolved. Stir into vegetables, and cook until sauce thickens, about 3minutes.

4. Roll out 1/2 of the dough to line an 11x7 inch baking dish. Pour the filling into the pastry lined dish. Roll out remaining dough, arrange over the filling, and seal and flute the edges.

5. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes, or until the crust is brown

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

QUICK TIP...

I finally got my Hip Hop Abs DVDs and in my manual one of the questions that should be answered stemmed from something that has always puzzled me...how important is the "no eating within 3 hours of bedtime" rule? Here is the answer just below:

"This is a great "trick" to keep your body in fat-burning mode. As you sleep, your body doesn't really need food, but it gets hungry because you usually eat every 3 to 4hours. Your body looks for carbohydrates to consume, but since you haven't eaten recently, there will be a shortage. Then the body looks to stored fat - BINGO! Also, your body has a growth hormone spike while you sleep, which aids in the metabolism of fat. Food in your system can interfere with that spike. So it's your call - want to lose weight while you sleep? Sleep on an empty stomach!"

This is a great answer...I never knew why and NOW, I do!!

SN: sorry about the late post...had some trifling car issues :-( I'm not good with dealing with care issues, so it's a total mood killer. But I'm happy to get my DVDs, so of course I'll post my workout videos!!

Friday, July 30, 2010

MY THREE GLUTEUS MINIMUS-ES-ES

So, my friend made a joke that the butt is made up of three muscles: Gluteus maximus, medius, and minimus. Then he politely wrote and I quote "U must have 3 gluteus minimus muscles. LMBO!" Yes, he said it just like that- then I asked him why he ever had any friends-LOL. He kindly (not really) sent me a butt workout online. I looked at the workout and decided that I'd do it one morning. Check it out!

To view the online workout click HERE
!!

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

GET THIS IN YO' LIFE

This is a picture of the stadium that I'm now using to go running....get some of this in yo' life. This is something that will make you regret you ever gained any weight in the first place. I'm going to call this my "baby beast" because nothing beats the BEAST of all BEASTS (Doak Campbell Stadium, Tallahassee, Fl).

If you're more advanced hop up to the top...then throw up-lol. I did four of these, which is okay because I did interval jogging/walking (with incline) for about an hour before I got there. One workout day this week is going to be purely dedicated to the baby beast & we'll see how many times I get to the top. I could've done 5 on Monday, but calmed my butt down quick. My goal is 7- well, see...

My Failed Attempt

Monday, July 26, 2010

SALSA MAMA!!


Friday, July 23, 2010

I GOT UP ON SOME I.P. or did it GET UP ON ME???

*Pics after just 30 Minute of Insanity Plyo*

Well, as I step up my weight loss game (and try to stop being lazy), I decided that I would do a little Insanity Plyometrics to shake up my evening. Plus, I was seriously craving some ice cream and I wanted to test the theory that exercise would curb my sugar craving. Well, just so you know, I didn't want to eat again until the next afternoon, so it certainly works-lol. This is the second time I've done this workout and I did about how I did the first time. I get to about the second/third set and feel like I'm about to throw up. The video you are seeing is the 2nd and 3rd time through the routine. For those of you who don't know, he goes through about 2 routines, 3 separate times. I didn't want to speed this up, so you'll see one of my favorite routines today. The first routine is kinda boring to me, so I'm showing the second one. I like doing unique excercises and the first routine is really standard. I only had 30 minutes before I had to get ready for church, so I cut this short anyway. It was cool, that morning, I went walking/jogging/running..."2-A-DAYS", get one in atleast once a week!!!

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup...the Remix

So Monday, I told you I made Chicken and Gnocchi Soup... well here is the recipe below from EHOW:

•1 cup chicken breasts, cooked and diced
•4 cups chicken broth
•2 cups cream
•½ cup celery, finely diced
•1 garlic clove, minced
•½ cup carrots, finely shredded
•½ cup onion, finely diced
•1 cup fresh spinach, coarsely chopped
•1 tablespoon extra virgin oil
•½ teaspoon thyme
•½ teaspoon parsley
•Freshly grated Parmesan cheese - optional
•1 pound potato gnocchi

Step 1
Sauté the onion, celery, garlic, spinach, carrots in the olive oil till the onion is nearly translucent.
Step 2
Add the chicken, chicken broth, and spices. Bring to a boil.
Step 3
Slowly add the gnocchi into the boiling broth.
Step 4
Turn down the heat and let simmer for about 10 minutes.

MY TIPS: In order to find Gnocchi, go to any grocery store and look in the isle that would sell pasta OR go to the frozen food section as they sometimes come frozen. They look like soft, white balls of dough. Also, to make this dish healthier, just add more veggies. I added frozen peas; I also increased the amount of spinach, carrots, and onions. Be careful because spinach can overpower the taste of the dish. I did not include chicken because I didn't feel like cooking any...probably would've passed out from the meds if I had to stand any longer-lol. I used a little less gnocchi and no thyme; I added parsley and marjoram instead. I used half and half instead of all cream, and a tbsp of wheat flour (to thicken it up). That optional dash of Parmesan in the recipe was a definite ingredient for me (yummy). HOWEVER, my chicken broth had LOW sodium, and I used the Parmesan as "my salt". This was an great dish, easy to make, filling (for such a small serving), and decent in calories...anywhere from 200-250 per cup. HAPPY EATING!!

Monday, July 19, 2010

Down for the Count :3, 2, 1, zzzzzzzzz

*Excuse the background, but this pic is awesome &, well, I like it!*

Sorry my THICK CHICKS! I had a tooth from the crypt removed today. It literally looked the like face of Crypt Keeper with blood- ah, seriously!! Anywho, I've been doped up and knocked out & I'm about to get back to that now. I did however, cook me some homemade Chicken Potatoe Gnocchi Soup- very tasty. I don't know if it's healthy, but I'll hook you up with the recipe and provide pictures when I come out of the comma...till then, take my advice and STAY AWAY FROM THE CANDY!!

Friday, July 16, 2010

SOME MIDDAY MOTIVATION


Sorry, I was at a business seminar and I was determined to post from my phone, but was not able to do it. However, I got this thought from one of the speakers, he said: "You are not rewarded in this life for simple showing up and playing the game. You have to get in and WIN!!" How true is this... many sports teams play the game, and they play it well, but at the end of the season, they'll get a nice pat on the back. But winners, push hard, play hard, practice hard, lose battles, and win the war. In your weight loss goals, its great to be a player, but don't you want to accomplish your goals?? Don't you want to look back and say to yourself that you won?? I certainly do, and I certainly will!!

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Troubled Waters

Okay, so for the last week and a half, my mind has been completely out of it. NO EXCUSES- I have not been getting up to go to the gym. I know what you're thinking...go after work- yeah, that's not gonna happen. But let me tell you the amazing thing that's happening in the midst of my bafoonery...I CAUGHT IT EARLY!!! I recognized it and now I've recommitted myself.

Normally, this process would take me 2 or 3 months, but in a mere week and half, I see the dramatic impact that exercise and a proper diet has made in my life. Its so good now, that even when I ate my first unhealthy and over proportioned meal in weeks, by body immediately reacted to it. I felt bad and I could not eat a lot the next day.

As I start my new gym membership (bc I'm terrified to go to my apartment gym due to the outbreak of recent criminal activities---YIKES), I'll remember that I had started to lose 4 pounds a week and it'll push me harder. Let me make a note that I do feel like a professional running back up in this piece. My muscles feel like they are 3 times the size they were before I started getting on my "healthy lifestyle" kick. I do KNOW that by the end of the year, it'll be worth it. I'll be 140, flirty, 30 (yrs old) and fabulous before long...

Friday, July 9, 2010

The BMI is just a lot of BS, Part 2

*Comic taken from: cartoonstock.com*
THE BMI has become known as the "quick and easy" way to calculate body fat percentage for adults. There are better tests to calculate body fat percentage, but they take up a lot of time. I'm still slightly dumbfounded that a person who is 6 feet tall would have to weigh about 177 lbs in order to be considered "normal". I say all of this to say, take it all with a grain of salt (which BTW has like 10 grams of sodium-lol). Your BMI estimate is not the end all to maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Even Serena Williams is considered "overweight" according to the BMI, based on some sources. So, lifestyle is important when considering these numbers.

At first, BMI numbers were utilized by insurance companies to set rates and premiums. Historically, the BMI percentage rates for "normal" was within the 27.8% & 27.3% body fat range for men and women, respectively. However, in 1998, the National Institutes of Health consolidated that number for both men and women and decreased the "normal threshold" to 24 percent for all sexes.

In spite it all, the DATA still proves that their is a correlation to being "obese" and falling victim to chronic diseases. So, the most important point, is that we still have the secret to living our healthiest life...exercise regularly and eat well!!

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

The BMI is Just A Lot of BS, PART 1


On July 5th, after spitefully enjoying only one holiday meal for the day (I only had that one mean the entire day), I began thinking about my measurements, and their impact on my health. After searching on my phone (because there was no way I was getting out of my bed to get to a computer before 1pm), I discovered a variety of opinions about what people view as overweight and what people view as obese. A picture of a young woman online caused alot of grief over her weight...some calling her a "fat nasty pig" and others saying "she looks good".

Soon after, a discussion of her being unhealthy began..."BMI" someone wrote, "she's just fat and unhealthy". Then another wrote, "BMI is not an accurate assessment of her being obese or overweight!" After trying to find the clinical trials and history of the BMI, I discovered that this is positively, absolutely true! It is not an accurate assessment your percentage of fat. The clinical trials for BMI were performed on men, without respect to race, age, or muscle build. Matter of fact, I discovered that the creator of the actual BMI, Ancel Keyes, stated:
It’s one thing to estimate the average percent body fat for large groups with diverse builds, but quite another to slap a number and label on someone without regard for these factors… misgivings are gaining traction across the world of medicine: BMI simply doesn’t work when it comes to individual measurements.

Take me for example: I'd have to be about 136 lbs to be at the bottom of an "overweight" category. My goal is to be about 140 lbs, but this would still make me "overweight". I am a thin rail at 140 lbs and I'd probably toggle between a size 7 and 8 (mostly because I have huge legs). But I have friends my same height who would easily be in a size 5 or 6 at 140 lbs. Another case and point, a lady at my job, about my height weighs 170 lbs and she looks how I did at 200; I was about 167 lbs at the time. I didn't believe her and she didn't believe me...she brought her scale to work and sure enough, we both weighed almost completely what we said. I WAS BLOWN AWAY!!

So, in essence, this scale is somewhat bogus...tune in for Part 2 on Friday. For now though, STAY AWAY FROM THE SCALE!!

Friday, July 2, 2010

OUT!!

I've been working on some new stuff for you guys, but I've been out this week, and trying to catch back up. Tune in next Wednesday so we can pick up where we left off. I've been absolutely slammed at work, but I promise good stuff next week! Until then...

Monday, June 28, 2010

OUT SICK

I have a massive toothache...I mean mouth ache. I would post something, but I may tell you all anything due to being under the best meds my dollars can buy. Till Wednesday...right now I'm going back to sleep.

Friday, June 25, 2010

MY FAVORITE MJ SONG...SORTA

I can't really choose a fav MJ song, so I'm just going to play one my real all time favs in his memory (straight jacked from youtube)...SO, how are yall doing on those dance routines...yeah me too! lol

PART II- Learning Thriller!!

I think there are about 5 videos, but I'm posting 2...mostly because that's how far I've gotten-lol...I might have to changed this to learning the moves to "You Rock My World"...idk-lol

Michael Jackson...REMEMBERED!

Okay, so like most people, I'm a huge Michael Jackson fan and with tomorrow being...well tomorrow, I wanted to kick back and learn a few moves myself. Its great exercise AND YOU TOO can look like a BUTT in memory of MJ. This guy does a pretty good job of teaching the dance moves from THRILLER & I'm going to share with you what I learned when I stop laughing at myself, but until then...check this embed on youtube...

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

QUICK POST: MASSAGE UPDATE

I told you all that I'd let you know how my massage went. As I suspected, there was tightness all over my back and neck, and several of my pressure points were in dire need of release. I got a 30 minute therapeutic massage and it was MAGNIFICENT. I was a bit uncomfortable at first, but I quickly got over it. I have to tell you that everyone must get one of those per month or every other month in their life...pronto!! Skip a pedicure for a week and just do it at home or something...I'm not sure what you have to flex out, BUT please, don't deny yourself any longer. That massage was amazing, and my back was back in tip top shape afterwards (BTW, I paid $30 for my session).

TO WHEAT OR NOT TO WHEAT??? THAT IS THE QUESTION

I pose this question because I heard someone say that "white bread ain't nuthin' but flour, sugar, and water". That puzzled me because I wasn't really aware why I ate whole wheat bread over white bread. I was just eating it because everyone (media, friends) said that this is what you're supposed to do, so in effect, the purpose of this post is to tell you the differences I've researched.

Simply put... whole wheat flour has lots of nutrients and white flour has most of its nutrients stripped away. It may be better said that white flour isn't necessarily bad for you, and that wheat flour is simply better for you. According to A to Z Wellness:

"The two biggest differences between white bread and whole wheat are the processing and the nutritional value.

Flour is made from wheat berries. The wheat berry is made up of the bran, the germ and the endosperm. All parts are filled with nutrients and are used in whole wheat flour.

White bread on the other hand, uses only the endosperm - the starchy inner layer. There is a total of 30 nutrients missing in white bread."
However...please note that white flour has more iron and sometimes more calcium than wheat flour, as it is enhanced by the companies that make them. Also "WHITE WHOLE WHEAT" bread has some of the wheat germ added back into it after processing.

My preference is whole wheat because I like to eat with some purpose most of the time...i.e. butter pecan ice cream is packed with milk and nuts (like snickers)!! lol, just teasing, but I use some whole wheat baking flour for cakes, wheat pastas, and whole wheat bread. I eat the Arnold Whole Wheat Sandwich Thins all by itself because it is so good and only 50cal per slice (check the pic below). I made my son a tuna sandwich with it and he said "MOM, THIS IS THE BEST SANDWICH EVER!!" But then again he is my kid and can be slightly dramatic (have no clue where he gets it). Wheat is an acquired taste, but easily adaptable...try it out!

Monday, June 21, 2010

SUPER LEAN!!

These are some tasty looking energy drinks...sign me up!!!!

I've been looking for a post work out energy drink that's natural and healthy. I didn't want to take in a whole lot of sugar in the morning and I'm not a caffeine drinker. Oddly enough, a friend of mine sent me an article on a new study done on women who do weight lifting and resistance exercises within their workout. The study found that women who drink about 2 glasses of whole milk after their workout gain more lean muscle and lose more weight than women who drink a post workout energy drink.

ALSO, you know how women tend to gain weight after working out for about 2 weeks due to muscle gain? Well, this study showed that women in study group who drank whole milk didn't have that weight gain due to gaining lean muscle!! I mean...that's just wonderful. I, myself, refuse to weigh in for another month at least, because of this very same weight gain. I see the extra room in my pants and I see myself getting smaller in the waist -and to be honest- that's quite enough for me-lol

I'm going to try this milk thing for a week though, but 2 glasses is alot of milk, and may not sit to well with my calorie conscious diet (hmmmmm). But this makes sense because I did gain solid muscle mass while doing my P90x routines. I can fit in my clothes better, but I felt like a lil running back-lol

Let me know if you try this too...

Friday, June 18, 2010

DINGS, BANGS, SPRANGS, AND BRUISES...

I'm all battered and bruised this week. I have a bruise on my leg from softball, a pulled muscle in my upper back, bouts of fatigue, a knot on my other leg, soreness from squats, tension in my shoulders a stressful MONTH at work, and a knot below my knee... I'm all messed up. It seems like I've been wrestling lions all week as opposed to just exercising. I need to get myself back together, first, starting with this throbbing back muscle....

I went online to find out what was going on with me because if I breath fast or swallow a chunk of food, I get a sharp pain in my back. AHHH, best advice from what I found online....GO TO THE DOCTOR!!! I've also found that possible getting a massage could also help to relieve tension. This is my busy season at work, and I've been stressed to the max with several pending deadlines. I'm going to get a massage this afternoon, so I'll let you know how this goes. The most important advice is to STOP...don't try exercising a pain this bad, and if it persist after 2 or 3 days, again go to the doctor. I let you guys know how this one goes.

Then for bruises...try ICE! I was surprised too, but this honestly helped with the coloring of my bruise. Check the advice from the National Institutes of Health below (Hopefully, I'll heal up soon):


1. Place ice on the bruise to help it heal faster and to reduce swelling. Place the ice in a cloth -- DO NOT place ice directly on the skin. Apply the ice for up to 15 minutes per hour.
2. Keep the bruised area raised above the heart, if practical. This helps keep blood from pooling in the bruised tissue.
3. Try to rest the bruised body part by not overworking your muscles in that area.
4. If needed, take acetaminophen (Tylenol) to help reduce pain.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

CHECK THE VIDEO BELOW THE PICS

Here are my post pics from my interval running:

The first one gives a clear expression of just how I felt immediately afterwards... notice the sweat and harsh glare

Here is of pic of me when thinking about the benefits of this kick butt routine....LOL





SQUATS...OUCH!!

Monday, June 14, 2010

The Part of MY Insanity Fit Test

This is the last part of my Insanity Fit Test....VERDICT: Not so fit :-(

Friday, June 11, 2010

Exercise 4: Insanity Fitness Test

I may have done about 14 of these exercises, but this is the last one for today's post. Funny thing...I'm missing one of the other videos, hmmmm....

Exercise 3: Insanity Fitness Test

I remember doing about 40 of these and watching them do the rest...smh!!

Exercise 2: Insanity Fitness Test

I think I did around 45-52 of these awkward jumping jacks. That loud clang you hear is my fan...close call!!

PRE-TEST?? Yeah Right...that's INSANITY

I have to apologize for the late post, but the morning just got away from me. I will post a series of videos detailing my exercises in the Insanity pretest (fitness test). I completely left the edited version of my pretest home, so I'll post four of the exercises today & four on Monday. BTW...I did not do good- at all!!

I only did about 53 of the first exercise if I remember correctly!

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

ALLI-OOP

So, as promised, I'm going to review some diet pills, as they are looked upon to help lose weight. My opinion...everything works with a good diet and exercise - so, the point is that GOOD DIET and EXERCISE are the true determinants to maintaining a healthy lifestyle. BUT I have seen some wonderful things with diet pills. Even I can attest to the Xenadrine (before they removed the harmful ephedra) was the BOMB!! I was in the gym 2 hours a day, 3 days a week, but I lost like 40 lbs in 2.5 months (probably not healthy, but I'm being honest).

I've also taken doctor prescribed appetite suppressants that frickin' rocked, but if you can't learn to control your diet, you'll be hooked on appetite suppressants for life. Essentially, that's the way I view diet pills...they are a temporary fix on an exacerbated problem. That is why I'm going through this process - learning to eat better - learning to control my diet - and learning how to exercise efficiently.

Now, back to Alli...the clinical trials are excellent!! Subjects who took Alli for six months lost 50 percent more weight — say, 45 pounds versus 30 — than those who only dieted, according to a study done by GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Consumer Health care, the drug's manufacturer. "We found that 80 percent of Alli-takers really stuck to a reduced-fat diet, and 50 percent started exercising for longer periods of time," says Vidhu Bansal, Director of Medical Affairs at GSK Consumer Health care.

BUT...there is a downside!! If you don't eat right, you will get the stinkiest side effect that sends people running to the bathroom...or the STORE because they've pooped in their pants. Now, isn't that a funny little caveat to eating right - EAT RIGHT or POOP in your pants! If you ask me...that's exactly why the pill is successful-lol However, if you can keep your fat intake in line, you will not be prone to the losey gooseys (ain't nothing cute about a poop...but I'm trying to lighten it up-lol).

I think, with all that being said, I'm sold!

Friday, June 4, 2010

REJUVENAT-ED...ING...ION

So yesterday, in the mail, I received some rejuvenation...I received some craziness...I received some Insanity. That's right the Insanity Workout Program - in the mail - by one of my favorite clear people in the world- McCaskill!!!

I was so excited that I did the fit test this morning, but had some technical difficulties loading my cut version to the blog :-( Look for that on Monday!!! In the meantime, I found a video that shows you some of the moves from the workout. It looks very similar to P90x, except it's alot faster (which means burn baby burn...those calories).

I have to admit, it was hard for me, and I can't exactly get through most of the exercises even though they were only for one minute. HOWEVER, I'm going to set my own pace and incorporate this into my interval walking/jogging, dancing, and P90x. I'm going to get you guys some more "DANG SHE'S FINE" pics in a month. It would be an absolute shame if I looked the same as before....let's pray!! I'm going to try not to let you (myself) down. Peep the routine I jacked off youtube below:

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

THE PITS!!!

If it isn't one thing, it's quite another - I’ve been quite bogged down over the last couple of weeks and I feel as if I’m losing motivation to stay on the right track. I haven’t gained any weight, but I’m certainly not losing any. So what to do?? Well, to jump start my workout regimen, I only feel it’s right to complete what I started with P90x, even though I’m slightly bored with it. The routine isn’t boring, but I get bored doing the same thing over and over again for more than 45 days in a row, apparently. I only have about 45 days of the program left to complete and I need to do that.

In the meantime….I’m going to shift my workout around to make it more interesting for me. Lately, the ongoing issue is that I have not been going to sleep early at night and it prevents me from getting up in the morning….excuses, excuses!! THIS SUMMER, I’m joining a gym and utilizing the techniques I learned from P90x to further my exercise routine. SOOOOO, in the meantime, can someone take some jumper cables, attached them to my “noassitall” and pump my energy level back up?? I’m in the pits…wayyyyyyyyy, down, down, low pits! Hopefully, these new routines with my friends will get me back on track on to my 30lb goal.

Friday, May 28, 2010

Tasty Turkey and Taters

These burgers were really good to me! I did add a little salt for taste to the top of the burger when I finished cooking it, but not much. Ellie Krieger is big on adding salt just to add taste or flavor and NOT for seasoning. My son ended up not liking the red peppers in the burger after eating about 1/2 of it...he wanted me to make sure I let you all know-lol. Me on the other hand, I loved the burgers...tell me what you think.

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

THE UGLY TRUTH!!!


Anyone for a glass of milk? Yeah...I know, not funny, but WITTY (I think)*chuckles*

I was reading an article yesterday sent to me by the "Clear Advisor" (lol), and I ran across some starteling information about MILK. I know you're thinking, "Milk? Here we go again". It seems like every year there is a study that suggests cow's milk is bad, then another that suggests that it's good for you and helps in weight loss. The battle is ongoing...I mean, we're talking about the same people who had to get a Supreme Court ruling on whether a tomato is a fruit or veggie (so sorry I missed that debate *snaps*), so....

Anywho, I'm not sure if it's good or bad for you, but I'm trying to see the perks of drinking it, check out this information I received from WebMD yesterday in an article strongly entitled "FOODS THAT CAN WRECK YOUR DIET"...sounds DEVASTATING, right? :
Whole Milk (3.25%) = 150 cal., 8g fat, 5g sat. fat
Reduced-fat (2%) = 130 cal., 5g fat, 3g sat. fat
Skim (nonfat) = 80 cal., 0g fat, 0g sat. fat

If you'll note...per serving, reduced fat milk has more than 1/2 the saturated fat of whole milk per serving, so you're really only cutting it down my 2 grams of saturated fat when drinking it...may not be worth it when you consider taste. So now, I'm considering doing a mix of skim and reduced fat until I actually like skim...that's a battle in and of itself. May end of up going soy (and broke :-( all at the same time).

Monday, May 24, 2010

PHYSIOLOGICAL DIFFICULTIES

You guys ROCK!!! I appreciate all your support and your encouragement in my struggle with losing and eventually maintaining my weight. I'm still having a very hard time being able to continue to commit to doing one workout program for any given period of time. So, in effect, I'm finding things that I love and moving forward! I'm not going to allow this to stagnate me. Check out the video below:

Friday, May 21, 2010

Interval Yo Butt Off!!!

SN: I like the title of this article, so I'm going to keep it, but...having butt is the new black, so don't take that literally-lol- moving along (this is so off topic).
*Picture from the New York Times*

This week, I took a chill from the P90x...okay, not a chill, more like a full sabbatical (from certain DVDs). I've become slightly bored from the repetitiveness of the DVDs. I'm not sure what's wrong - I've done the same kind of thing at the gym for months at a times and I've had no issue with it. I've done 3 P90x (one is the abs) routines this week in between my days of walking (5 days BABY, YESSSS!!!). However, in my haste to find a quick fix to jazz up my routines, I've been "lead to the water" by friends a research to interval training.

I've taken my walks to a new level this week by adding light jogging and squats. These burst of energy will boost my endurance and my body's potential to burn fat. In track terms, I've been walking the "straights" and jogging the "curves" ...or is it the other way around -anywho, you get the gist.
According to the article in the New York Times:
After interval training, the amount of fat burned in an hour of continuous moderate cycling increased by 36 percent, said Jason L. Talanian, the lead author of the study and an exercise scientist at the University of Guelph in Ontario. Cardiovascular fitness — the ability of heart and lungs to supply oxygen to working muscles — improved by 13 percent.

Check out these videos I jacked (lol) from YouTube below.... (I know she's a little cheesy, but aren't most trainers? Besides, I love how she makes it fun, so view all her videos on YouTube. This is interval walking, but intervals can be applied across training routines. Interval walking is cool because you can add whatever burst of energy you like to your routines). Between walking the straights and jogging, I'd do a minute of squats...very cool stuff.



Wednesday, May 19, 2010

QUICK TIPS: SALAD CHALLENGE

This week, my son and I are chowing down on the salad...and I mean that literally. I've challenged us both to finishing a collosal bowl of veggies by the end of the week. We're doing great so far & we've passed the 1/2 finish line. It included two bags of salad (spinish & romaine lettuce), 6 oz of bing cherries, baby carrots, 2 hard boiled egg, 2 tbsp of shredded cheese, 2 tbsp of bacon bits, and 2 tbsp of sunflower seeds. EVEN with my plung *sobbing histerically* on Monday, I really believe that this challenge has helped me to maintain (not gain) my weight during this week. We'll know for sure by the end of the week.

DIET BUSTERS

*Yep, I feel like I ate this whole turkey*
As I'm going in and out of the office to my various breakfast and lunch meetings, I am confronted with selecting meals that align with my goals in weight loss. However, sometimes, lunch is provided, which means that I have to select from a certain box sandwich and choose which sandwich would be best. My mind always goes to turkey and chicken options, but I'm find this week that those are not always the best alternative.

On Monday, I felt good, excited, unbreakable...I quickly learned that humble pie isn't so bad *mumbles*. I'd decided to develop a strategy before attending my all day workshop. I would just bring healthy, low fat snacks, and TONS of water to brace for the prearranged lunch. My snacks consisted of one of my tasty Ellie Krieger Energy Bars, a banana, a fruit cup (35 cal), and a fruit salad consisting of watermelon, 7 cherries, and 7 blackberries (mostly because they are too expensive to eat so many at a time). This was a meeting on health, and I came knowing that our options would be healthy choices AND, I was right ... well sorta.

I selected the Panera Sierra Turkey Sandwich and honestly, I decided that this meal would just be an all day meal for me...half for lunch, half for dinner, half the cookie, blah- blah- blah. Upon reviewing my day, I found out that I'd eaten a 970 calorie sandwich!!! For me, this is NEVER okay!!! Not to mention the fact that the sandwich contained 1,970mg of sodium (my full day's worth) & lets not even talk about the chips or cookie!!! I just tasted the chips, but between lunch and dinner, I ate most of the cookie (shared the rest with my kiddo). I was dumbfounded and quickly learned to be careful with supposed "healthy" sandwiches. Upon reviewing their site, I found that sandwiches was strategically placed at the end of the list...it was the only option not in alphabetical order. I feel tricked...bamboozed...mad as a bull in a red room!!!

If you have a choice in the matter and you just have to have a turkey sandwich, please select the Smoke Turkey Sandwich...although, the sodium intake is about the same. They also have some of the tastiest soups and salads around....but watch the ingredients and pay close attention to what you're eating. This is my first time eating Panera, and to be honest, it was the BEST sandwich I'd ever eaten, but it was not the best food option. I did have a choice of the roast beef sandwich, and would have been the better selection. MORAL: just because it's turkey/chicken, doesn't mean that it's the best option.

Monday, May 17, 2010

Evaluating the Evaluator

*A creative take on reflection, hmmmm*

Last week, it was very hard for me to focus on my P90x routine, so I’m going to do this week over. I did 3 routines, but did not do the other 3 (yes, Yoga was included in that). I sometimes feel as if I get to the Yoga portion and then I stop wanting to do the remainder of the routines after it. So, this week, I’m going to do my “Yoga On the Ball” routine as opposed to the P90x Yoga routine. I did get in one day of walking, and one day of dancing, but they don’t really count – those are just extra routines.

Also, as far as eating is concerned, I spent many days out of the office last week, hence I did not log much of my food. If you ask me if I ate pretty well, I’d say I did “okay”, but I still have issues with picking food when I go out to eat. Sometimes, eating ½ a meal at every restaurant means nothing when you eat out for every single meal. Last week I was tried because I had both breakfast and lunch meetings all week. IT would have been interesting had I logged those days just to see the damage I’d done. As of today, I’ve gained 1 whole pound… L

REFOCUS…although this week will be filled with the same appointments (breakfast and lunch), I’m going to log all my calories and make sure I report them to you the next week. This week is something new and I’m determined to fight the good fight and move forward with my endeavors…Today, P90x, tomorrow…(boot camp, biking, jogging, Zumba, Insanity – you decide)!

QUICK POST: SOUTHERN FRIED GOODNESS…

*see the shallow olive oil"

Sunday, I REALLY felt the urge for some fish and I did not want to overdo the salt. I decided that I would make some oven-fried grouper and some pan-fried grouper with the same seasonings to see the difference in the taste. I even added my handy dandy wheat germ to the mix…and guess what??? There weren’t any notable differences in the fish. Because I pan fried some fish, I made sure to use a shallow amount of olive oil in the pan. I used Ms. Dash seasoning because it has NO sodium. Furthermore, I get all my sodium in hot sauce and mustard. If you just hate Ms. Dash, then use lemon, light salt, and pepper for flavor or eat half of a fish with a fish fry batter (mostly so you can monitor what you’re putting in). I decided to make a water/hot sauce concoction to spread the sauce a little more. Hot Sauce has 240mg of salt in it per tsp- OUCH!!! Mustard had significantly less at 55mg per tsp. All in all this was a tasty dinner!!! I paired it with a huge salad – yummy!

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Energy Bars...My all day snack!!

I cooked a batch of Ellie Krieger's Energy Bars just the other day. I have to admit, when I ate my first energy bar from the batch, I did not like them!! BUT (thank God for "buts" ;-)) when I ate them the next morning, they were really good. Then, they just got better and better til finally, I was carrying them around in my beautiful new shoulder bag nibbling all day. My son even likes them and eats them for a snack when he comes home from school. I feel full after eating them, and just a small bite holds me over for a good period of time. I really hope you all try this tasty recipe...let me know what you think.

SN: I had one of those "FULL BARS" the other day (the ones that fill you up so you eat less- not the ever so tasty Ellie Krieger Bars) and I almost threw it out of my moving car. I literally gagged- not very cute at all!! I had the apple cinnamon kind. If you've found a different flavor that taste better, let me know. My co-worker insisted that I try one so I did...not a good decision.


Wednesday, May 12, 2010

SNACK RIGHT: Part III



I don't even have to say anything and you all know this just looks right! I got this pic from a good friend's page. He's so frickin' healthy, it just makes me sick! Check out his "Run This Town" page by clicking on the hyperlink (one of many of his pages).

He did a personal training session with me once for about 30 minutes...it was supposed to be an hour long session. Mentally, it was great! Physically, I passed out on the floor...yeah, I meant that quite literally-seriously! I was on the floor of Legend's Gym in Tallahassee, Florida with about 10 personal trainers floating about (and snickering after they found out I was okay) all asking him what he'd done to me. He was very professional, he didn't laugh right then, but later...I'm sure he cracked his side laughing at me-lol. Not to mention the onlookers who were thinking "DANG...when can I get my session in? He doesn't play." Or they were thinking "run for the hills" and X'ed him off their personal training list. I think I was like 214 lbs then. Very memorable, funny story...

Working my SHARMS... (shoulders and arms)

Here is a little of my Shoulders and Arms workout from my routine. I actually have about 15 exercises and this is just about 6 or 7. This was last week, so I’ve done this particular workout about 4 times now. This workout, Plyometrics, and Core Synergistics are my favorite. I kind of wish I could just do those all week long with a little X Stretch, but I’m pressing forward with my P90x Classic Workout.

I’ve had several revelations, hesitations, un-revelations, speed ups, slow-downs, complaints, gripes, hang-ups, hold ups, screw ups, and mess ups BUT overall, I’m elated that I began this workout. This puts me on the right track, but to be honest, I don’t plan on working out 7 days per week when this is over. After I lose 20 more pounds, and tone up, I really am working on modifying my diet so that I can maintain my weight. I believe my diet is the most important change that I can make this year. A few years ago, I was working out a total of about 6 months per year…3 months here, 1 month there, 2 months later on. But last year, I worked on 9 months out of the year. Somewhere in those three months that I didn’t work out, I gained 15 pounds…how is that for a wake up call?!?

Food…diet…eating right – all so important, so I’m going to spend the next few days researching more on how to eat for life. Now hopefully, I won’t do this research when I should be working out (back on my Exercise A.D.D.) *I’m kidding*



Monday, May 10, 2010

Day 28...me likey!

I can't complain...I can honestly say that I'm loving how I look and feel. I have more energy, I feel empowered, and I'm down a full 7 lbs. My true goals for these three months was just 20lbs, and I'm well on my way. I'm proud of myself, but I have a long way to go. Check out some pics of me and my clear skinned friend-lol

(FYI...Mufasa is the father of Simba from "The Lion King", he was a sexy beast-ha!)



I honestly believe that I could have been down at least 5 more, but food and eating right is important. I'm going to be more conscious of what I eat because I honestly realized that food is 85% of my weight loss. For some people, it's the absolute opposite, but I've found that for me FOOD "weighs alot".

FINALLY...and the BEST...my boobies are so much better!! Must be something about those push ups, but I'm thoroughly impressed about that anti-gravity defense mechanism (my new name for bogus amounts of push-ups) :-)

Friday, May 7, 2010

PART 2: SNACK RIGHT (the sugar rush)

If you're anything like me, you have a huge problem with eating sugary snacks. My sugary snacks usually have tons of sugar, so upon recommendation from a wonderfully healthy (almost) academic advisor that hails from the best University that sits on the highest of 7 hills in Tallahassee, Florida (if you don't know...look it up,lol) - I digress - He told me to try to find things that are under 5g of sugar. To myself, I thought that this was easy, but upon shopping, I found that this is one of the hardest things to do.

Don't get it wrong...if I want Rita's Italian Ice, I'm getting Rita's, and if I want ice cream, I'm getting ice cream, but I will not allow these items to invade my snack box (It would be kinda messy anyway). Remember: Moderation is key!! So, here are two items that both are 5g of sugar per serving, great on calories, and low on sodium. I even found one with some fiber and chocolate for my "choco lovers". ENJOY!!

EXERCISE A.D.D.


Comic borrowed from: An Unrehearsed Riot

I know you all are laughing at me, but I think I have a problem...I wanna do every exercise and end up doing nothing. I wanna dance, I wanna do my routine later, so wanna read about exercising, I wanna prepare a healthy snack, and I wanna save the whole world, and I wannd do all of this before doing my P90x routine at 5:30 in the morning.

I've fallen off the 7 days a week exercise routine. Last week, injuries and excuses (my exercise A.D.D.) cut me down to two days of ab work, two days of upper body workouts, plyometrics, and a day of light walking. Basically, that does NOT equal a 6-7 day P90x workout. But...I did figure out a dynamic plan to combat world hunger during my morning thinking session (when I should be exercising).

Then on top of it all, I had become slightly discouraged because I can't seem to walk my happy butt away from the scale. Due to bloating this week and last week, I should have just walked away...(in my best Forrest Gump), but "stupid is as stupid does". THEN...the absolute worse - I felt myself waddling as I walked this week, and it isn't because I'm working on creating a new trend. Imagine: 5-2, 164 lbs, waddling around the pond...screams duck (QUACKKKKK, QUACKKKKK) to me.However, that stumble required me to look at my weight loss, & evaluate my eating habits.

SO HERE's the POINT OF MY SHAMELESS RAMBLING: I had to keep doing something. To that end, I had to squeeze in walking at my son's track practice. It gives me the time to think (about "world peace"), and the drive to push that waddle aside. Instead of sitting down and watching my son at track practice, I got my butt up and walked around the field for the full 1-1.5 hours he's getting his run on. MORALE: I can have A.D.D. and get my walk on all at the same time (I know, I created the cure for craziness-lol).

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

SNACKING RIGHT: Part I


This morning I made Tuna and I’ve been told it’s the perfect snack…lookey-at-e-whatti-found-e (yeah, nerdy, anywho): I decided that I’d do my own recipe and divide it into 4 snacks. I had 2 cans of tuna chunk light in water (totals about 8oz), 1 tbsp of light Mayo, 1 tbsp of sweet relish, & 1 hard-boiled egg. Now, this is where it gets tricky, I had to figure out by hand how much sodium, calories, sugars, and proteins were in this snack. I’m not a chemist so this could be wayyyyyy left field because I don’t know how certain foods react with one another (sometimes causing higher calories, etc), but this is my calculation:

How is this for tasty , filling, and healthy?!? Now, when adding crackers, I decided to go with 1 serving of Honey Butter Ritz cracker which contains: 80 calories for 5 crackers, 70mg of sodium, 2g of Sugar, and 1g or protein. I paired all of this with a piece of fruit (apple) and I have a snack that’s less than 300 calories, great protein to feed my developing muscles, and low in carbs (sugars). Hope you try it out! Tell me what you think.

SNACK-TABULOUS!!



Yesterday, I was talking to my friend & brain behind my namesake, and we began to inquire as to why I hadn't lost as much weight as I would have wanted to by now. The first place we ventured...my food. Since I had been keeping a log of what I eat at www.livestrong.com, we were able to log on and view my full diet. I hope you guys can view it too...I'm working on how you can do that now- if not, know that I tried my best!-lol

What we uncovered were high amounts of salts and "surprise surprise" *sarcastic* sugars. This called for adjustments on my part because I refuse to workout this hard and not see the weight loss I want. I'm trying to get my "fine" on!! I want to be able to look in the mirror and say, "I'm not a lesbian, but I'd do her!" So, because of this, I'm starting a series on eating good snacks, because some of my snacks contained insane amounts of sodium, with some days spiking to over 1000mg (in one snack session)- what can I say...I love pickles!

The Mayo Clinic recommends "not exceeding the range of 1,500 and 2,400 milligrams (mg) a day for healthy adults". Honestly, the breakdown of sugars and carbohydrates is very complicated, so you will have to view the Dietary Guidelines for Americans at: http://www.health.gov/dietaryguidelines/dga2005/document/default.htm . For me, I'm considering between 32g and 40g of sugar per day. It'll take a séance to get me any lower than that right now. Hope you enjoy the series!

Monday, May 3, 2010

LIVING STRONG


Hi Friends!!! This morning I wanted to talk about my new diet buddy. Her name is www.livestrong.com . This has been an excellent resource for me because I’m able to log in (for FREE…btw FREE is also a good friend of mine) on and document everything I eat for the day. This may be considered hard for some people, but it has helped me be more conscious of what I put into my body. One day last week, I ate boneless butter garlic and lemon pepper wings….yum (I’m salivating, pardon me)!! Surprisingly, my fat intake (not protein) equaled about 40% of my diet for that day. Talk about dumbfounded!!

NOW GET THIS!!! The best thing about this site is that you can choose how much weight you want to loose in one week & it will give you a number for the proper amount of caloric intake. IT can’t get any easier than this! I’m not going crazy so I selected 1.5 lbs per week. That is about 6-7 lbs per month…over a three month period you can start calling me by my alter ego…SATIA (that short for insatiable)!! Yep, I said it!! I’ll let you guys know next week how this goes for or against my workout regimen.

So now, even on my free days, I’m conscious of what I’m eating – it may not be the perfect step, but it’s certainly a step in the right direction for how I want to live my life. It takes me about 10 minutes in the morning to enter everything in my lunch bag, including breakfast. So, by the time I leave work, I know what I can eat for dinner. Even if I’m not able to log what I eat that night, I go back and do it the next morning. Also, I enter everything I put in my mouth…gum, peppermint, vitamins, chitosan (fiber pills), etc.

According to the Mayo clinic, you should be eating about 15-35% protein (20% for me), 20-35% fat (20% for me), and about 45-65% carbohydrates (about 60% for me). REMEMBER: your proteins should be from beans, lean meats, and seafood; your fats should come from nuts, olive, canola; and your carbs should come from whole grains, fruits, veggies (not from cotton candy, red velvet cheesecake, and candy bars…although that sounds excellent). HOWEVER, this leaves lots of room for moving around and juggling food, so that you ensure that you’re eating properly.

Friday, April 30, 2010

Yum, yum- Gimme some!!



Good Morning Friends!!! I have a special meal that I prepared just the other night, so I wanted to share it with you. This is a really good recipe and because the meat is supposed to have the skin off (I didn't do that with my wings, but I will), the top layer of skin is replaced by the crispy Maple-Mustard marinade. I didn't really enjoy the asparagus, but my son LOVED it and that is actually enough incentive for me to cook it over and over again.

If cooked with skinless thighs as suggested in Ellie Kreiger's recipe, you'll find that two pieces of chicken has 378 calories in it!! For thighs, that simply unheard of---lol. Now utilizing boneless, skinless chicken breast makes this meal a tad bit leaner. I hope you like it!!

Instructions for the chicken as written in the book:
"8 bone-in, skinless chicken thighs
1/3 cup grainy French Mustard
1 clove garlic, minced (1tsp)
3/4 tsp dried marjoram
3 TBSP pure maple syrup"

Preheat oven to 375, rinse and pat dry your chicken. Mix the mustard, garlic, marjoram, and syrup together. Take the mixture and place about 1 tbsp covering to complete surface of the chicken. Place the single layered chicken in the oven and bake until a "crust" is formed and lightly hardened; and make sure the juices run clear when pierced in the center. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes.

Please make note that if you utilize chicken breast or wings, they may not take as long to cook- it really depends on your oven. I love my chicken breast juicy, so I took them out a little earlier. HAPPY EATING!!!

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

!!!The MADNESS begins!!!

So here are the pictures that sparked my madness...

Pre Insanity Workout shot:
Post Insanity Workout shot- look at that shirt!!!

I admit it!!! I'm not ashamed!! I speak up when I'm just wrong or when I make a quick decision before thinking it through rationally - and this time, I WAS SO WRONG!!! I got wind that one of my friends on the Insanity workout was sweating up a storm during his routine (he's also the person that came up with the name of this blog). Suddenly, the green eyed monster appeared and I JUST had to sweat too!! So, I did it! I went PLYOMETRICS up in this "X-dom" (The "mother" of all P90x workouts). This is my last week for the first phase of P90x lean, and I'm basically starting over after reaching Day 16. I've decided that I'm going to be "ALL THE WAY LIVE" this week.

I picked the worse time to get slightly jealous! I WAS WRONG!!! VERY WRONG!!! When I tell you that this routine was NOT to be played with!!! I've never been challenged so much, pushed so hard, or shoved so far outside of my element. So what did I go do, what, do you ask, was the ultimate atrocity in this matter??? I went from the P90x Lean (with no Plyo) Routine to the P90x Classic Routine!!! I'm already rethinking this decision- there will be an unprecedented amount of prayers being prayed on my behalf during the next three weeks. I was sorely bruised before I finished Plyometrics workout- "where they do that at??". I don't know what I'm thinking, friends - check out this madness below:

Okay....THE VIDEO

I don't know why my computer wouldn't take this video in my original post, But I'll try it this way...


I apologize that the first part of the video is dark, it doesn't show up this way on my home computer, but when I get to work, it seems so dark!! Then, I moved the camera accidentally and it showed a side angle. I PROMISE I'm going to get this right eventually. Also, the video is 3 minutes long; You can hear my breaking, grunting, and complaining...insane.

Monday, April 26, 2010

WHEN KNOWING HOW TO COOK GOES WRONG

*Comic borrowed from "http://www.comics.wombania.com/2009/12/cookie-eating-contest/ *

Last week...Day 10....the insane "cookie monster" attack began. I tried to fight the urge, but my mind kept saying "ME WANT COOKIES"!!! I had prescribed to not allowing myself to purchase cookies for my home because I can't stop eating them until they are gone (one bag in 2-3 days). Especially, the vanilla cream cookies, drenched in ice cold milk....ahhhhhhhhhh, heaven. So, it was too late and I was too lazy to go to the store and purchase cookies. I mean, I tried really hard to fight it guys and I even sought an intervention among my friends, but they were busy & not able to get to me before I fell off the edge. So technically, this is all THEIR faults!! *kidding* SO can you guess what happened next....

Well, it sucks to know how to cook because I was in my kitchen, 8:00 at night, baking butter cookies (with applesauce)!! I know, I know, but those were the tastiest cookies I'd eaten in 10 years, I promise! Now, the trade off was that I had to do that grueling ab routine again & stay awake until almost 12pm (I ate them a little late). Because of that ab routine on top of those cookies, I'm not exactly sure it was worth it! Once again, it kicked my BUTT!!

Now I'm back on track from my moment of temporary weakness...this is SO not attractive, don't let this happen to you!!

Technical Difficulties


*Picture borrowed from Flickr* I haven't seen this kind of computer in YEARS!!

For some reason, I can't get my computer on the internet or my camera to upload my video, so I had to do this post from my phone. Today, I had prepared a video about a new decision I'm making & I can't wait for you guys to see it! But, of course, you'll have to wait to get to it. :-( Sorry FRIENDS!! I'll post it as soon as I can load it!!

Friday, April 23, 2010

ADDING in the SPINACH



Adding spinach is just a way for me to add extra nutients into the actual meal. I try to get in atleast 5 servings a day of fruits and veggies (sometimes I make it, and sometimes I don't). But know that it takes creative planning - a serving of fruit at breakfast, veggies or fruits included in snacks, and a double serving of veggies at lunch or dinner, etc. It sounds like alot, but it really isn't. However, I wanted you to check out SOME of the many vitamins & minerals contained in Spinach (Info obtained from the USDA):

Vitamin A
Beta-carotene
Lutein
Protein
Folate
Vitamin C
Vitamin E
Vitamin K
Calcium
Iron
Lycopene
Amino Acids too!!

The VERDICT: In his own words: "This is soooooo good!"